CW Survivor – Challenge 6: Create a Challenge

Come up with a creative writing challenge of your own:

THE DIRTY HARRY CHALLENGE

I know what you’re thinking: “Did she write six stories, or only five?” Well, to tell you the truth, in all this excitement, I’ve kinda lost track myself.

Write a story in six parts (300 word maximum for each part) in which each section uses the perspective of one of six different characters.

But being this is Spookymilk Survivor, the most competitive creative writing game in the world, and this one entry could blow your chances at writing immortality, you’ve got to ask yourself one question:

This does not have to be a Rashomon-type story where each perspective retells the same scene. However, all the parts should contribute to the overall plot and combine to tell a cohesive story.

“Do I feel lucky?”

The catch is that once a character’s perspective has been used, that character cannot make an appearance in any of the following scenes.  They can’t be mentioned, referred to, or conversed with after their scene.  That narrative bullet has been shot.  Thus, the first scene could involve all six of the characters whose perspective we will see, but the final scene will have only the character from whose perspective the scene is told.

Well do ya, punk?

Upon submission I kind of wished that I had added some guidelines for a plot or something.  But at the same time, I mostly just liked the wrinkle that I did include, so I was interested to see what the judges would think of this one.

K: More brilliance. At first it indeed read like a retread of last season’s Rashomon game, which I intended on running again. However, if I ran this potentially very difficult but rewarding challenge, I’d simply remove Rashomon because this is better.

4 points on a forced curve (5 point max.)

B: I love this, especially the “catch.” In fact, this could be great as the final challenge. I’d be very excited to see what people would do with this, and thus it gets my top score.

5 points on a forced curve (5 point max.)

Those scores were good enough for me to bank an immunity for the next time our team loses.

Leave a Reply

