Welcome to Two Thousand (Random) Ten

Oh man, sorry this is late – had such a party last night I woke up not even knowing what year it is.

New Music

Nirvana – Live at Reading – I love Nirvana. Probably one of my top two bands of all time. I haven’t got a chance yet to watch the DVD of the concert that came with the CD, but I haven’t stopped listening to this one since I got it for Christmas.

Random 10

  • The Other Improv – Nirvana – With the Lights Out
  • Thomas – A Perfect Circle – Mer de Noms
  • One Hit – The Knife – Silent Shout
  • Mexico – Butthole Surfers – Weird Revolution
  • Lullaby – The Cure – Disintegration
  • Come As You Are – Nirvana – Live at Reading
  • Needles and Pins – Deftones – (self-titled)
  • L. A. – Butthole Surfers – Electric Larryland
  • Get to the Gone – Static-X – Machine
  • Drain You [Demo] – Nirvana – With the Lights Out

Seems like three of a kind of Nirvana is appropriate for this week.

9 thoughts on “Welcome to Two Thousand (Random) Ten

  1. 1. “All The Pretty Girls Go To The City” Spoon Kill The Moonlight
    2. “Nothing Out There” Ry Cooder Paris, Texas OST
    3. “I Don’t Know” Thunderclap Newman Hollywood Dream
    4. “Tomorrow” Built To Spill There Is No Enemy
    5. “Butterfly Dance” Kevin Ayers Odd Ditties
    6. “Slept” Richard Buckner Since
    7. “Strange Feelin'” Lilys Sing A Song For You: A Tribute To Tim Buckley
    8. “I Was a Stranger” Smog Red Apple Falls
    9. “A Call To Arms” Beirut The Flying Club Cup
    10. “Blue Cash” Deerhoof Apple O’
    bonus: “Till the Morning Comes” Neil Young After the Gold Rush

    You know, I used to really dig Nirvana. Had all the CDs, and a couple bootlegs, too. Saw them at the Uptown Bar for Pete’s sake–pre-Grohl. Nowadays, I don’t have any of it in my iTunes, and I don’t think that’ll change. I dunno, I’ve guess I’ve moved past Nirvana.

    • I think that’s true of a lot of people, but not for me. I don’t listen to them a lot, but every time I do, I’m reminded how awesome they are.

  2. The Shawshank Redemption Theme
    The Hold Steady – “Certain Songs” Almost Killed Me
    Finger Eleven – “I’ll Keep Your Memory Vague” Them vs. You vs. Me
    Old 97s – “Weightless” Satellite Rides
    John Mellencamp – “Ain’t Even Done With The Night” The Best That I Could Do
    Flogging Molly – “The Son Never Shines (on Closed Doors)” Drunken Lullabies
    Mitch Hedberg – “Teeth” Mitch All Together
    Patton Oswalt – “Here We Go” Werewolves and Lollipops
    Jack Johnson – “Sitting, Waiting, Wishing” In Between Dreams
    Shinedown – “All I Ever Wanted” Leave A Whisper

    • Nope, this is a separate CD/DVD combo.

      The Bleach remastered album includes an early live performance from the Pine City Theater. I’ve been sorely tempted to buy that as well, but have held out so far.

Leave a Reply

