Cello Week – Day 5 – Györgi Ligeti – Sonata for Solo Cello

I’ve been listening to a lot of cello music lately, and I was considering throwing my hat in the ring for a week of guest DJing at the WGOM featuring some cello music, but then I realized I have my own website, and I could just have my own cello week. So rather than competing with the WGOM music video of the day, think of this as a complement.

Matt Haimovitz is one of the really great cellists out there right now.  I wanted to be sure to include him in this week, so here he is playing Ligeti’s Sonata for Solo Cello.

Video after the jump.

Part One

Part Two


Cello Week:

Saturday – Portland Cello Project – If Moon Was Cookie
Friday – Osvaldo Golijov – Mariel (2003)
Thursday – Györgi Ligeti – Sonata for Solo Cello (1953)
Wednesday – Michael Gordon – Industry (1992)
Tuesday – Erik Friedlander – Night White (2007)
Monday – Zoë Keating – Escape Artist (2009)
Sunday – Steve Reich – Cello Counterpoint (2003)

One thought on “Cello Week – Day 5 – Györgi Ligeti – Sonata for Solo Cello

Leave a Reply

