Cello Week – Day 4 – Michael Gordon – Industry

I’ve been listening to a lot of cello music lately, and I was considering throwing my hat in the ring for a week of guest DJing at the WGOM featuring some cello music, but then I realized I have my own website, and I could just have my own cello week. So rather than competing with the WGOM music video of the day, think of this as a complement.

Composer Michael Gordon:

I had this vision of a 100-foot cello made out of steel suspended from the sky, a cello the size of a football field, and, in the piece, the cello becomes a hugely distorted sound.

That about sums it up. The first time I listened to this, I wasn’t a huge fan, but I kept coming back to it, so I’d be interested to hear what people think of this one. The cellist in the video is Jeff Zeigler (perhaps better known as the cellist of the Kronos Quartet).

Video after the jump.

Cello Week:

Saturday – Portland Cello Project – If Moon Was Cookie
Friday – Osvaldo Golijov – Mariel (2003)
Thursday – Györgi Ligeti – Sonata for Solo Cello (1953)
Wednesday – Michael Gordon – Industry (1992)
Tuesday – Erik Friedlander – Night White (2007)
Monday – Zoë Keating – Escape Artist (2009)
Sunday – Steve Reich – Cello Counterpoint (2003)

2 thoughts on “Cello Week – Day 4 – Michael Gordon – Industry

  1. Hi there, I’ve just stumbled upon this site whilst I’m hunting around the Internet as I am searching for some material on electric cellos!. I think it’s a very interesting site so I’ve bookmarked you and I will revisit soon to enjoy a more indepth browse when I’m more free.

Leave a Reply

