Cycling

No random 10 story today, I’m going with some non-fiction instead. Hope you enjoy it.

    Thursdays, Mrs. Mak has class in KC and this was her week to drive, so I had the entire night to myself and only my bike for transportation. Because I’m somewhat of an idiot, I figured I could use this opportunity to take an extended ride on the bike and push myself a bit. What I came up with was not on the scale of a trip to Wisconsin, but hey, I’ve got to start small. So here are 10 songs to go with my 10 mile trip around Lawrence.

  • Kyuss – El Rodeo – And the Circus Leaves Town
  • Headed out straight from work (in jeans, mistake #1) with fuzzy rock and fresh legs (neither would last more than about 5 minutes).

  • Led Zeppelin – In the Evening – In Through the Out Door
  • Zeppelin got me to this little music shop here in Lawrence (it’s called ‘Best Buy’, I heard they’re expanding a bit, there might be one near you soon) where I picked up ‘Horehound’ by The Dead Weather. A short ride to pick up some cat food for the starving pets at home and I headed back in the other direction.

  • Counting Crows – A Murder of One – August and Everything After
  • I’ve had that Counting Crows album since it came out, and it wasn’t until tonight I realized that ‘A Murder of One’ is a play on the word for a group of crows. Apparently the bike ride finally got the mental juices flowing.

  • (Hed) P.E. – Swan Dive – Broke
  • So this is the part of the ride I was most nervous about – the big $#@!ing hill behind our house. As I slog my way up the hill, I’ve got “What could be better than a swan dive into the asphalt?” blaring in my ears.  It seemed almost portentious.

  • Coil – The Golden Section – Horse Rotorvator
  • Survived the hill, only to get the creepy gloom of Coil as my reward, beginning to think I overreached a bit with this trek.

  • System of a Down – Spiders – (self-titled)
  • Recovered some and I’m almost to my next destination, 7 miles into the ride, I’m already thinking about the road home.

  • Black Sabbath – War Pigs – Paranoid
  • I get to Blockbuster (yeah there was one closer, but the idea was to push myself) and I’m almost dead, it was pretty much uphill the whole way, fortunately no more backbreakers like the first one, but I arrive and probably look like hell, judging by the clerk’s reaction. I grab my movie (The Matador) and start back with the War Pigs guitar solo starting me off.

  • Foo Fighters – Learn to Fly – There is Nothing Left to Lose
  • This is perfect.  I grabbed a drink and sat for a minute and I’m feeling much better.  Learn to fly, indeed.

  • Mastodon – Hunters of the Sky – Blood Mountain
  • Another uptempo and loud one, perfect for the downhill ride all the way home.

  • REM – Texarkana – Out of Time
  • Made it! And it felt pretty good. Felt even better after a shower and some supper. The movie was pretty good too, funny and well done (Pierce Brosnan was excellent).

New Music

The Dead Weather – Horehound – Clearly I just bought this, but I’ve listened to most of the songs on youtube. I do like a lot of Jack White’s stuff, and this was a little more dirty, bluesy and it caught my attention more than the other stuff. I don’t think it’s going to be one of my all-time favorites, but it should be a quality listen.
5 thoughts on “Cycling

  1. Damon and Naomi “Judah and the Maccabees” With Ghost
    The Pixies “Where Is My Mind?” Surfer Rosa
    David Bowie “Kooks” Hunky Dory
    Blonde Redhead “Astro Boy” Blonde Redhead
    St. Vincent “All Things Change” Actor
    Beck “Lost Cause” Sea Change
    The Zombies “Imagine The Swan” Collection 64-69
    Yo La Tengo “Watch Out For Me Ronnie”
    I’m Not Afraid of You and I Will Beat Your Ass
    Deerhoof “Look Away” Friend Opportunity
    Beach House “House on the Hill” Beach House
    bonus song: Pavement “Loretta’s Scars” Slanted and Enchanted

  2. “Destiny” – Eric Woolfson, Freudiana
    “1988 (Robert Fripp)” – Various Artists, Angels in the Architecture
    “San Francisco 1906 (Excerpts)” – Synergy, The Jupiter Menace soundtrack
    “The Floater” – Henry Mancini, The Music from Peter Gunn
    “Never Ending Story” – Klaus Doldinger & Georgio Moroder, The Never Ending Story soundtrack
    “Pipeline” – Alan Parsons Project, Ammonia Avenue
    “Why Does the Sun Shine?” – They Might Be Giants, Severe Tire Damage
    “America (bonus track – single)” – Yes, Close to the Edge
    “Relay Breakdown” – Synergy, Electronic Realisations for an Electronic Orchestra
    “A Miner” – Joe Hisaishi, Laputa: The Castle in the Sky soundtrack (Image Album)

    regarding #3 & #9: we were big Synergy fans in college (still am); Synergy is Larry Fast, electronic keyboard pioneer. If you haven’t heard him as Synergy, you might have heard him playing keyboards on Peter Gabriel’s early albums & tours. His first LP Electronic Realisations is brilliant.

  3. Didn’t know there were hills in Lawrence. Also our trip to K.C. was canceled. Oh Well.

    1. Look What You’ve Done for Me – Al Green
    2. The Passion – Billy Bragg
    3. I’m Bound for the Promised Land – Johnny Cash
    4. Standing in the Doorway – Bob Dylan
    5. Dog Treat – Tom Waits
    6. Good Night – The Beatles
    7. Ever Fallen in Love? – The Buzzcocks
    8. Dog Door – Tom Waits
    9. Sunday Sun – Beck
    10. Sleep! – Big Black

    Bonus: Hell is Chrome – Wilco

Leave a Reply

