FOODGWOP

I have come to the realization that I don’t have any interest in writing the Series Previews anymore.  Part of it is the uninspiring Twins season so far this year, part of it is that they take a lot of time to put together, and part of it is that with the move and everything starting to come together here in Kansas (after three days, we found an appropriate coffee table!) I haven’t been terribly inspired to spend time on the same stuff for this site.  So there will be a bit of a shift in direction here whilst I figure out how the schedule is going to go in the new stage of my life.  Bear with me.

With some time off betwixt my triumphant completion of graduate school and the beginning of my postdoc appointment, I’ve actually had some time to do a fair amount of reading.  One of the books I finished was a collection of poems by Mark Doty, My Alexandria.

I’d been distracted from this one for a while, but in finishing it up last week, it re-awakened my interest in poetry.  Now, I am not a poet (occasionally I’ll knock out a verse or two for Mrs. Mak but I’m not sure that really counts), nor have I read any extensive amount of poetry.  In fact, I can count the poetry collections I’ve read on one hand.

E. E. Cummings – ViVa

Robert Hass – Praise

Mark Doty – My Alexandria

The Cummings book was bought on a whim during my college years at the bookstore – and yes, all the punctuation and capitalization makes it odd, which is kind of what initially appealed to me, the ideal of intellectual, borderline pretentious rebellion.  But what ended up sticking with me from that collection is the finishing lines in poem XIX:

… i mean the
Rain is no respecter of persons
the snow doesn’t give a soft white
damn Whom it touches

I don’t think it was any deep understanding which caused those words to catch my eye, I just liked the verse, lyrically.  Since then, I’ve tried to occasionally pick up some poems here and there.  So here’s my plan, in recognition of my scratching the poetry itch again, I’m going to declare this the First Occasional Official Daneeka’s Ghost Week Of Poetry (FOODGWOP).  My plans are as follows.

Mon – introduction (you’re reading it right now)

Tue – My thoughts on my most recent poetic adventure

Wed – A favorite poem -or- some discussion of relevant links/sites

Thur – What poetry will I read next?

Hopefully, I’ll be able to stick to that (at least partially)

5 thoughts on “FOODGWOP

  1. Well, now. This is an interesting development. Brings to mind this scene from the classic film.

    As much as I’ll miss Series Preview, this may prove interesting. Or not. I’ll still stop by, though. ;-)

    • You got me, this is merely an opening act for the puppet show that starts next week.

Leave a Reply

