Seven Figures

New Music

The Giraffes – (Self-titled) – A louder, harder version of Queens of the Stone Age.  I like it OK, but nothing special or groundbreaking here.

Random Ten Songs

Hell – Foo Fighters – In Your Honor
Split Myself in Two – Meat Puppets – Meat Puppets II
Almost Cut My Hair – Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young – Deja Vu
Enough Space – Foo Fighters – The Colour and the Shape
Sun Will Set – Zoe Keating – One Cello x 16: Natoma
Tissue No. 2 – Wendy Sutter – Songs and Poems for Solo Cello (composed by Philip Glass, from the Naqoyqatsi soundtrack)
Miranda That Ghost Isn’t Holy Anymore – The Mars Volta – Frances the Mute
Song III – Wendy Sutter – Songs and Poems for Solo Cello (composed by Philip Glass)
90 Hour Sleep – Dredg – Live at the Fillmore
Weenie Beenie – Foo Fighters – (self-titled)

A triple shot of Foo Fighters with a cello interlude.  I’ll take it.

Random Ten Story

MIRANDA) Hell is trying to please everyone all the time.  I’m stretched so many ways I feel like I’m going to split myself in two, it feels like I’m in ‘The Pit and the Pendulum’, with everyone’s expectations swinging closer with each pass.  This afternoon the blade is close enough to almost cut my hair.  I’ve worked all day on [Person No. 2]’s requests.  If I’m lucky, I’ll have enough space in my schedule to get to [Person III]’s list before tonight.  I know the sun will set before I go home tonight because if I don’t get it done I’ll hear it from both of them and Mr. Beenan.  I’m sorry, now I’m crying from the stress, could I get a tissue?

No. 2) Ridiculous, it’s always the same story from her.  I know we’re all supposed to feel terrible for the martyr over there, but I’ve got news for Miranda.  That ghost isn’t holy anymore, you’ve pulled this crap out so often that no one buys it anymore.  It’s just the same old song.

III) I’m not sure she’s faking it this time though, she looks like she could use a good 90 hour sleep.  Of course I could say the same for myself, everyone works hard around here.  That’s the joy of working for ‘Weenie Beenie‘.  Can’t beat the pay though, seven figures heals a lot of wounds.

MIRANDA) Seven figures?  You make seven figures!?

No. 2) Great.  You shouldn’t have let that slip.  There she goes.  Now someone else is going to have to do all of this drudgery.  Looks like a long night for you.

4 thoughts on “Seven Figures

  1. Is Weenie Beenie hiring?

    1. “Ashtray Heart” Captain Beefheart Doc at the Radar Station
    2. “Calling Sarah” Jellyfish Bellybutton
    3. “Passat Dream” Pavement Live in Amsterdam ’97
    4. “Heroes and Villains” (live) The Beach Boys Endless Harmony
    5. “Most Of Us Are Prizefighters” AC Newman The Slow Wonder
    6. “Yer Blues” The Beatles The White Album
    7. “Figure” Richard Buckner Devotion + Doubt
    8. “Third Stone From The Sun” Jimi Hendrix Are You Experienced?
    9. “Strange” Built to Spill Ancient Melodies of the Future
    10. “I Get Along” The Libertines Up The Bracket

    • Weenie Beenie? how in the world was I supposed to work that in?

      Anyway, I don’t think they are hiring – the boss got busted for some shady dealings and they had to downsize pretty significantly.

  2. Pre-Twins/Cardinals Random 10:

    “Settled Land” – Echolyn, “As the World“
    “So Sincere” – Gentle Giant, “The Power and the Glory“
    “Peg” – Steely Dan, “Aja“
    “Mudd’s Women: Three Venuses/Meet Mr. Mudd/Hello Girls/Venus Aboard/Mudd Laffs” – Fred Steiner, “Star Trek TV Soundtrack, Vol. 1“
    “Siren Song” – Alan Parsons, “Try Anything Once“
    “Love Will Find a Way” – Pablo Cruise, “Worlds Away“
    “Parca Güell” – Eric Woolfson, “Gaudi“
    “Dead Already” – Thomas Newman, “American Beauty soundtrack“
    “The Sahara of the Snow, Pt. 1? – Bill Bruford, “One of a Kind“
    “The Pearl” – Harold Budd & Brian Eno, “The Pearl“

    Bonus Track: “The Boxer” – Simon & Garfunkel, “Bridge Over Troubled Water“

    There you have it. Go Twins!!

  3. 1. Lafayette – Lucinda Williams
    2. Forgotten Works – Klaxons
    3. Infected – Bad Religion
    4. Secondary Modern – Elvis Costello
    5. Talking in the Dark – Elvis Costello
    6. Down There by the Train – Tom Waits
    7. Down on Penny’s Farm – The Bently Boys
    8. If My Heart Was a Car – Old 97’s
    9. Two Rooms – The Feelies
    10. Make You Feel My Love – Bob Dylan

    Bonus: Radio Cure – Wilco

Leave a Reply

