Musica

New Music

Dredg – The Pariah, The Parrot, The Delusion – I really liked Dredg’s previous three albums, although I would have to say the most recent (Catch Without Arms) was my least favorite.  I’ve only had this one for a day, but I’ve listened to it a few times and it seems like it’s very much along the same lines as the last one.  I’m less than impressed so far, but I’m still listening and giving it a chance to grow on me.

Random Ten Songs

Gave Up – Nine Inch Nails – Broken
Ain’t It The Life – Foo Fighters – There Is Nothing Left To Lose
I Will Dare – The Replacements – Let It Be
The Canyon Behind Her – Dredg – Live At The Fillmore
Mark David Chapman – And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead – Madonna
Whatever Happened To… – Onesidezero – Onesidezero
Slither – Velvet Revolver – Contraband
Take It Like A Man – The Offspring – Ignition
Salt Of The Earth – Rolling Stones – Beggars Banquet
River Euphrates – Pixies – Surfer Rosa

Random Ten Story

Quickly, I gave up trying to influence her moods.  It’s all wasted energy anyway, ain’t it? The life we had was beautiful, and I will dare now to say I was happiest then.  She was always in danger of hurtling over the edge of the canyon behind her into paranoid rages accusing everyone of double crossing her.  She knew me this time as Mark. David Chapman was my previous alias (my own twisted humor), and when she asked “Whatever happened to your birthmark?” I knew she was on to me.  I felt the cold feeling of fear slither into my stomach, but I resolved to stick it out.  However she decided to punish me, I would take it like a man.  That was the part of me that came from my father.  He wanted me to be a practical, salt of the earth, responsible child.  He got off easy, once he was discovered as a foreign agent, his body was dumped unceremoniously in the River Euphrates.  After a night of baring my soul, I had to wake to a tear-stained letter lying on a cold pillow and lose her forever.

5 thoughts on “Musica

  1. 1. “Diamond Meadows” T. Rex Velvet / Goldmine OST
    2. “Almost Crimes” Broken Social Scene / You Forgot it in People
    3. “Game of Broken Hearts” Tarnation / Gentle Creatures
    4. “Bottles and Bones” Califone / Califone – Roomsound
    5. “Feel Good Hit of the Summer” Queens of the Stone Age / Rated R
    6. “Telegram Sam” Bauhaus / Swing The Heartache-BBC Sessions
    7. “All The Flowers In Time Bend Towards The Sun” Jeff Buckley & Elizabeth Fraser / Rarities From NYC
    8. “Under The Surface” Bettie Serveert / Palomine
    9. “Your Legs Grow” Nada Surf / The Weight is a Gift
    10. “Suspended From Class” Camera Obscura / Underachievers Please Try Harder
    bonus “Fancy” Yo La Tengo / This Is Where I Belong (The Songs of Ray Davies)

    I was hoping to see some Kansas. Or Toto. (Not really.) “Salt of the Earth” is a great Stones song.

    • Don’t tell Stick, but I took about half of my Stones music off my iPod. I’ve still got it in my big library, but not walking around with me. Beggar’s Banquet made the cut because I like just about everything on that record.

  2. Nice story, I like. Also very efficient, I am amazed you can do them in a paragraph.

    1. Finding Devine – Hank and Ruth
    2. With a Girl Like You – Alex Chilton
    3. Careless Love – Ray Charles
    4. Because – The Beatles
    5. Is She Really Going Out with Him – Joe Jackson
    6. No Body but Me – The Human Beinz
    7. Feeling Called Love – Wire
    8. I’ll Never Let You Go – Elvis Presley
    9. Town of Mirrors – Guided By Voices
    10. Soon – My Bloody Valentine

    Bonus: Many Rivers to Cross – Harry Nilsson

    • Thanks for the compliment, free. This story was hard for some reason, I had a few false starts.

      You’ve got a classic list there, hope you enjoy Wrigley on Sunday!

  3. Red Hot Chili Peppers – “21st Century” Stadium Arcadium
    Jack Johnson – “Tomorrow Morning” On & On
    Jimmy Eat World – “Polaris” Futures
    The Nadas – “Disenchanted Heart” Coming Home
    Tonic – “If You Could Only See The Way” Lemon Parade
    Steve Miller Band – “Livin’ in the USA” Young Hearts
    The Damnwells – “Closer Than We Are” One Last Century
    Red Jumpsuit Aparatus – “False Pretense” Don’t You Fake It
    The Hold Steady – “Citrus” Boys and Girls in America
    Kansas – “Carry On My Wayward Son” Best of Kansas

Leave a Reply

