Nameless Evil Henchman #4

New Music

Coil – Horse Rotorvator – Way back in December, when I started this 80’s kick I’ve been on recently, I asked for suggestions from the fine fellows of SBG Nation.  AMR suggested I give Coil a listen, that it was kind of a precursor of Nine Inch Nails.  Well, I don’t know if you know this about me, but I have been known to listen to some NIN now and again, so I vowed to give it a shot.  To make a long story short(er), this album was tough to find, but now I’ve got it and I like some of the songs quite a bit.  Favorites are currently ‘Slur’, ‘Ostia (Death of Pasolini)’, and ‘Blood From the Air’.

Random Ten Songs

Sail Away – Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Rust Never Sleeps
Freak Scene – Dinosaur Jr. – Bug
The Patient – Tool – Lateralus
Gone Away – The Offspring – Ixnay on the Hombre
Old Man – Neil Young – Harvest
New World Order – Onesidezero – Is This Room Getting Smaller?
We’re Going to be Friends – The White Stripes – White Blood Cells
Bottom – Tool – Undertow
Bab’s Uvula Who? – Green Day – Insomniac
I Lost All My Money at the Cock Fights – Minus the Bear – Highly Refined Pirates

After ‘Sail Away’ and ‘Gone Away’ I half expected the Pixies’ ‘Gouge Away’ or Tool’s ‘Crawl Away’ or … ah, screw it, here’s another list.

Neil Young – Sail Away
The Offspring – Gone Away
Pixies – Gouge Away
Tool – Crawl Away
NIN – The Day the World Went Away
Nirvana – Stay Away
Led Zeppelin – Over the Hills and Far Away
Black Keys – Give Your Heart Away
The Offspring – Gotta Get Away
Deftones – Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away)

Random 10 Short Story – making its triumphant return.

My plans to hop a boat and sail away from this disaster vanished as soon as Nameless Evil Henchman #4 came through the door.  He looked terribly out of place in his tailored suit amidst the freak scene that was the 42nd annual tri-state rooster showdown.  He spotted me right away (as if he didn’t know I was there before ever venturing in here).  Once he was face to face with me, he told me the patient man I had grown accustomed to had gone away.  I asked him if the old man was ever going to get tired of following me and just forget my debt. Apparently not, I was treated to a rant about how this Nameless Evil Henchman was different from the previous dudes I had dealt with.  He was here to instill a new world order for me, and if I had any thoughts about how we’re going to be friends he was going to disabuse me of that notion.  I told him he had anger issues, and if he wanted to get to the bottom of them, I knew a great therapist.  He turned purple.  He said, once he was through with me, he was going to hang one of my fingers on his trophy wall right next to Bab’s uvula. Who? I asked.  Never mind, he snarled, you’ve got more important things to worry about.  You’re telling me, I agreed, I lost all my money at the cock fights, can you spare me some cash? He told me I was hilarious and walked away.

You don’t know the half of it I thought as I rifled through his newly pilfered wallet.

7 thoughts on “Nameless Evil Henchman #4

  1. You had two Neil Young entries, one with a guest. I had two Jay-Z entries, one with a guest. So similar, yet so different.

    Jack Johnson – “Traffic In The Sky” On & On
    Jay-Z and The Roots – “Girls, Girls, Girls” MTV Unplugged
    Jay-Z – “Blueprint (Momma Loves Me)” The Blueprint
    Oasis – “Some Might Say” (What’s The Story) Morning Glory?
    Red Hot Chili Peppers – “So Much I” Stadium Arcadium
    Gap Band – “Early In The Morning” Pure Funk
    Jimmy Buffett – “Ragtop Day” One Particular Harbor/Riddles in the Sand
    Peter Bjorn & John – “Up Against The Wall” Writer’s Block
    Jeff Tweedy – “Airline to Heaven” Sunken Treasure Live
    Shinedown – “Break” Shinedown EP

    • Now we just need someone else to post a Neil Young & Jay-Z collaboration. C’mon E-6, we’re counting on you!

  2. 1. “Emily” Joanna Newsom /Ys
    2. “Mob Rule” Robert Wyatt /Comicopera
    3. “Frankenstein” Antony & The Johnsons /Hope There’s Someone – EP
    4. “Weed King” Guided By Voices /Propeller
    5. “Everybody Cares, Everybody Understands” Elliott Smith /XO
    6. “Three And Nine” Roxy Music /Country Life
    7. “Lonesome Suzie” The Band /Music From Big Pink
    8. “Rainbow” Boris with Michio Kurihara /Rainbow
    9. “Chelsea Girl” Ride /OX4 – Best of Ride
    10.”It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels” Kitty Wells /The Devil’s Rejects OST
    bonus: “Have You Seen My Baby?” Flamin’ Groovies /Teenage Head

    Damn. My “99 Problems/Bar Stool Blues” mash-up didn’t pop up.

    • A noble effort, nonetheless. There’s an Antony & the Johnson’s album in Amazon’s June $5 MP3 albums – I forget which one.

  3. Nice story, Mak. Your best so far? Maybe so…

    It appears I have 45 songs with “away” in the title. Here’s a dozen:

    1.Funny How Time Slips Away/Al Green
    2.They Can’t Take That Away From Me/Billie Holiday 3.On Some Faraway Beach/Brian Eno
    4.Away With Murder/Camera Obscura
    5.Runaway/Del Shannon
    6.While Away/Madder Rose
    7.Wasted Away/Micah P. Hinson
    8.The Body Burned Away/Songs Ohia
    9.Don’t Take My Sunshine Away/Sparklehorse
    10.The Train That Takes You Away/Syd Straw
    11.Miles Away/Yeah Yeah Yeahs
    12.Walk Away Renee/The Left Banke

    • Nice!

      I’m sticking with ‘Gouge Away’ as the best of them at this point. (maybe ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’)

Leave a Reply

