Dan Auerbach at Metro Chicago

I mentioned on Friday that I was going to the Dan Auerbach concert here in Chicago on Friday night.  I had bought his album the week it came out, and bought tickets to this show shortly after that (about a month ago) so I’ve been looking forward to this for a while.  My brother made it in to town from Fargo.  That’s a solid 10-hour drive, so we were expecting a pretty awesome show.  We weren’t disappointed.  Mr. Auerbach was absolutely awesome.  We got there plenty early, purchased our beard-themed T-shirts and got our spot on the rail of the balcony overlooking the stage.  The venue was sold out, and by the time the featured act hit the stage it was packed.


The entire set list is below, but the highlight for me was “When I Left The Room” (video of this song here).  The drummers (two of them; one from the opening band, Hacienda, and the other Patrick Hallahan of My Morning Jacket) combined to create a thunderous, dark paranoia that fit perfectly with that song.  Nearly every song was great, with Auerbach’s fantastic guitar work lending a bit of a new twist on each song.  They played every song off the album, speeding up “Street Walkin” and giving it a frenetic energy that got everyone going before reining it back in with “When the Night Comes” and “Whispered Words”.  That actually brings me to my only mild complaint about the show.  I would have liked to see some of the acoustic work that is featured on the album.  “Trouble Weighs a Ton” and “Goin’ Home” were beautiful songs featuring only Auerbach on the guitar, but nearly everything else was an all out blues-rock jam.  Like I said, a minor complaint, and it didn’t detract from the concert noticeably, it was something I was looking forward to that I didn’t get to see.  They finished the show out (before coming back for a 2-song encore) with an absolutely devastating cover of “Inside Looking Out”.  Wow, that song was just awesome.  It was my brother’s favorite of the concert, and I can’t say that he’s wrong.


All in all it was a fantastic Friday night, I’m glad I went, and I just hope my ears stop ringing sometime soon.

Set List

1. Trouble Weighs a Ton
2. I Want Some More
3. The Prowl
4. When I Left The Room
5. My Last Mistake
6. Mean Monsoon
7. Oh Carol (cover)
8. Real Desire
9. Money and Trouble (cover)
10. Street Walkin’
11. When The Night Comes
12. Whispered Words
13. Heartbroken, In Disrepair
14. Keep It Hid
15. Inside Looking Out (cover)
16. Goin’ Home
17.  ???

Pictures and videos taken from others who were there as well (polkachamp, Wyatt, and Riley)

2 thoughts on “Dan Auerbach at Metro Chicago

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s