At Least I Died Doing What I Love

New Music

Dan Auerbach – Keep It Hid – Fair warning, there will be quite a bit of Dan Auerbach in these music posts the next couple of weeks.  I’m going to his concert when he comes to Chicago, so I’ll have to treat you all to a review.  Anyway, getting this album took some doing.  I ordered this online in order to take advantage of a birthday coupon before it expired.  Then the delivery took a whopping two weeks, which delayed me getting my hands on the album until well after the release date.  It was a tense couple of days waiting for it to come, but finally, last night, I got my hands on it.  Needless to say, I haven’t had too much of a chance to listen to the entire album yet, but “Trouble Weighs a Ton” is a pretty great openeing song (see the videos below).

Random Ten Songs

Aqueduct – Growin Up With GNR
Meat Puppets – Lost
Nirvana – Something in the Way
Radiohead – Pyramid Song
Dust Brothers – Homework
Foo Fighters – Headwires
Korn – Hollow Life
System Of A Down – Thetawaves
Everclear – Electra Made Me Blind
Rage Against the Machine – Settle For Nothing

Everclear?  That one surprised me.

Two Videos

Dan Auerbach – Trouble Weighs a Ton

[NOTE – Auerbach will be on Conan tonight (2/13)]

Black Keys – Your Touch

“Lip-syncing, man. I love that shit.”

4 thoughts on “At Least I Died Doing What I Love

  1. 1. The Hill – Marketa Irglova
    2. The Good Toothpicks – The Handsome Family
    3. Ask – The Smiths
    4. Paranoid – Black Sabbath
    5. Buzz Buzz Buzz – The Blasters
    6. Oddfellows Local 151 – REM
    7. What Was Burned – Jack Logan
    8. Daughter of Darkness – Tom Jones
    9. The Meeting Place – XTC
    10. Too Drunk Too Fuck – The Dead Kennedys

    Everclear? At least you didn’t have Tom Jones on your list!

    Ouch! You could take my songs and describe a very scary and unsuccessful Valentines date!

  2. Cheap Trick – “I Want You To Want Me” Live at Budokan
    Wilco – “Heavy Metal Drummer” Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
    Wilco – “I’m Always In Love” Summerteeth
    The Pogues – “Rain Street” The Very Best Of The Pogues
    The Neville Brothers – “Way Down In The Hole” The Wire Soundtrack
    3 Doors Down – “Ticket to Heaven” Away From the Sun
    Elton John – “Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word” Greatest Hits 1970-2002
    Lenny Kravitz – “Stand By My Woman” Greatest Hits
    Mitch Hedberg – “Sesame Seeds” Mitch All Together
    Flogging Molly – “Every Dog Has Its Day ” Swagger

  3. 1. “A Losing Game” James Carr – You Got My Mind Messed Up
    2. “Wilderness” Sleater-Kinney – The Woods
    3. “Special One” Ultra Vivid Scene w/ Kim Deal Joy – 1967-1990
    4. “Life’s A Gas” T.Rex – The Early Years
    5. “Acknowledgement” John Coltrane – A Love Supreme
    6. “Crazy Dreams” Jolie Holland – Springtime Can Kill You
    7. “A Fool For You” Ray Charles – The Best Of Ray Charles
    8. “98.6” Keith – Super Hits 1966
    9. “Eternal Light” Teenage Fanclub – A Catholic Education
    10. “Horror Head” Curve – Doppelganger
    bonus “Always Love” Nada Surf – The Weight Is A Gift

Leave a Reply

