Big Steps

Last week I created a folder on my computer entitled “Thesis”.

The last 4+ years have all been building up to this.  Now all that’s left is to generate a 200+ page document that not even my mother will read. (Mom, if you’re thinking about reading it, it’s really not worth the time or effort, and I won’t be offended).

Ideally, I will finish up my degree and defend my thesis this spring, then we’re moving to Kansas so that my wife can start her master’s program (apparently she noticed how much fun I was having these last few years).  I’m excited about the opportunity I’ve got out there doing a postsoc at Kansas University, plus I’ll get to go to Kauffman Stadium to watch the Twins instead of the Cell here in Chicago.

That actually brings up an interesting question, the Twins come to Wrigley Field for the first time since I moved here June 12-14.  As I see it I have two options:

1)  Finish my Ph.D. as quickly as possible, changing my life plan for 3 Twins games is pushing it a bit.

2)  Try to schedule my defense for June 11.  Celebrate my new degree by going to Twins games at Wrigley, pack for a week, then follow the Twins from Milwaukee (June 23-25) to St. Louis (June 26-28) to Kansas City (June 29-July 1).  Road Trip!

Only time will tell which of these is feasible, but its going to be an interesting summer.

2 thoughts on “Big Steps

  1. Don’t do it! It’s impossible for me to describe how mind-numbingly dull it will be, but trust me, it ain’t worth it.

    Maybe the acknowledgements, but that’s all that won’t waste your time.

Leave a Reply

