Welcome to the ’80s

I am in the midst of a dilemma.

One of my friends recommended a CD to me.  Generally, he has pretty good taste in music, so that’s not the problem.  The problem is that the CD in question is Let It Be by The Replacements.

replacements

You’re probably wondering why that is the cause of a dilemma.  The thing is this.  Up until today, when I added this particular album to my iTunes library, I had over 150 albums and 2,000 songs, which could be arranged chronologically (admittedly, with some selective endpoints) in this manner.

1960 – 1969 – 5 albums

1970 – 1979 – 10 albums

1980 – 1988 – 0 albums, 0 songs

1989 – 1999 – 61 albums (can you guess when I started getting into music?)

2000 – present – 65 albums

That’s right, I had zero songs from albums released after 1979 (Pink Floyd – The Wall and Neil Young – Rust Never Sleeps) and before 1989 (Nirvana – Bleach, The Cure – Disintegration, and Nine Inch Nails – Pretty Hate Machine).  I had always kind of thought of this as an interesting quirk of my music collection, but I had never gone out of my way to preserve it.  But now that I’m faced with ruining that perfect gap in my collection (Let It Be was released in 1984), I find myself a little reluctant to do so.

I won’t fight it though, it was bound to happen sooner or later.  Who knows? Maybe this will be the start of a string of albums from the ’80s for me.  Any thoughts on what I am missing out on from that decade?

2 thoughts on “Welcome to the ’80s

  1. Coil – Horse Rotorvator
    Dinosaur Jr – Youre Living All Over Me
    Fishbone – Truth and Soul
    Gang of Four – Solid Gold
    Guy Called Gerald – Automanik
    Husker Du – Zen Arcade
    Jane’s Addiction – (self titled)
    Jane’s Addiction – Nothing’s Shocking
    Meat Puppets – II
    Meat Puppets – Up on the Sun
    Pixies – Doolittle
    Pretenders – (self titled)
    REM – Murmur
    Replacements – Tim
    Sonic Youth – Daydream Nation
    Sonic Youth – Evol
    Sonic Youth – Sister
    Soundgarden – Ultramega OK
    Sugarcubes – Life’s Too Good
    X – Wild Gift

  2. Elvis Costello – Get Happy!
    Elvis Costello – Imperial Bedroom
    Feelies – Crazy Rhythyms
    Giant Sand – Long Stem Rant
    Mekons – Rock and Roll
    Mekons – Fear and Whiskey
    Paul Simon – Graceland
    Pogues – Rum, Sodemy, and the Lash
    Pretenders – Pretenders II
    Pretenders – Learning to Crawl
    REM – Reckoning
    Stone Roses – Stone Roses
    Syd Straw – Surprise
    This Mortal Coil – It’ll End in Tears
    Violent Femmes – (self titled)
    X – Los Angeles
    XTC – English Settlement

Leave a Reply

