Time Traveller

On the eve of battle, both the general and the drummer boy know the next day will have enormous consequences for both of them. That was my inspiration here, although it’s pretty clear I also had Bradbury’s “Sound of Thunder” in mind as well.

Time Traveller (@ Scrawlers)

I sit on the balcony watching the lightning on the horizon.

I had changed something. Even after all the training and all the dire warnings, I broke the rules. When I came out of the machine, everyone was flush with the excitement of success. I was ashamed to admit that I had let them down. Dire consequences had been promised for the slightest error, but two hours after I returned, the present remained unchanged to my eyes.

I sit on the balcony and wait for the rolls of thunder.

Leave a Reply

