The Oracle

I was struck by the description of the beggar’s face, so I went for a story revolving around striking features.

The Oracle (@ Scrawlers)

As I stood, stationary for the first time in days, all the miles that had chased me here finally ran me down and struck me with a physical force. I steeled myself, struggling to remain upright as I waited for the caretakers.

Legends were told about people with faces like these. In each retelling, the gray eyes would grow more piercing, thin lips would pull tighter as they regarded me. To faces like these, speech was unnecessary, my thoughts were already known and shared among them.

Their words should not have surprised me.

“Why have you come all this way?”

Leave a Reply

